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In the Matter of the Arbitration :
of a Dispute Between :

:
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ASSOCIATION/LEER DIVISION : Case 51
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and : MA-7224

:
PRICE COUNTY (SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT) :

:
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Appearances:

Cullen, Weston, Pines & Bach, Attorneys at Law, by Mr. Richard Thal,
appearing on behalf of the Union.

Slaby, Deda & Marshall, Attorneys at Law, by Mr. David Deda, appearing on
behalf of the County.

ARBITRATION AWARD

On April 10, 1992, the Wisconsin Professional Police Association/Law
Enforcement Employee Relations Division, hereinafter the Union, with the
concurrence of Price County, hereinafter the County or Employer, requested the
Wisconsin Employment Relations Commission to appoint a member of its staff to
act as the impartial Arbitrator in a dispute concerning the appropriate rate of
pay for employes taking earned overtime as comp time off. A hearing in the
matter was held on July 24, 1992, at which time the parties were afforded the
opportunity to adduce testimony and introduce documentary evidence. At the
commencement of the hearing, the parties waived the requirement of Article 7,
C. 2. that provides for an Arbitration Board comprised of one member selected
by each party and the impartial member to be selected from a panel of five
arbitrators supplied by the Wisconsin Employment Relations Commission. A
stenographic transcript of the proceedings was not taken and the parties orally
argued their case in lieu of filing posthearing briefs.

ISSUE:

At the commencement of the hearing, the parties were afforded an
opportunity to attempt to stipulate to a statement of the issue to be resolved
by the Arbitrator, but they were unable to reach such stipulation. Therefore,
the undersigned frames the issue as follows:

Did the County violate the collective bargaining
agreement when it paid Deputy Sprague for overtime
earned taken as compensatory time at the 2190 hourly
rate of pay? If so, what is the appropriate remedy?

PERTINENT CONTRACT LANGUAGE:

ARTICLE 10 - HOURS OF WORK AND KELLY DAYS

A. Work Year: The normal work year shall consist
of 2,190 hours which is an average of
approximately forty-two (42) hours per week.
The actual work schedule is to be six (6) days
on and two (2) days off. The County may change
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the work schedule in emergencies. After taking
into account the twelve (12) Kelly days, the
actual hours worked is 2,094.

. . .

E. Kelly Days To Be Taken: Kelly days shall be
taken by the employee during the calendar year
earned. One Kelly day is considered earned for
each month worked. Fifteen (15) days or more in
a month is to be considered a month worked for
the purpose of calculating Kelly days. Kelly
days for the entire year are to be granted to
the employee on the first day of the year. The
employee can take the Kelly days at any time
during the year. If an employee terminates
employment and has taken more Kelly days than
that employee has earned the employee is to
repay the value of those Kelly days to the
County. The value of a Kelly day is computed by
taking twelve (12) times the monthly salary and
dividing by 2,190 hours (hours per year) rounded
off to the nearest one cent (1 cent) times eight
(8) hours. The time for taking Kelly days can
be extended an additional ninety (90) days past
the calendar year at the joint agreement of the
employee and the Sheriff.

. . .

ARTICLE 13 - OVERTIME

A. Deputies who are required to work in excess of
the scheduled work day or work week shall
receive pay at time and one-half ( 1 1/2) or
compensatory time off at time and one-half (1
1/2) at the Deputy's discretion. Overtime must
be approved by the Sheriff or Chief Deputy in
advance except in an emergency. The hourly rate
is to be computed by taking twelve (12) times
the monthly salary and diving (sic) by 2,094
hours (hours per year) rounded off to the
nearest one cent (1 cent). Time and one-half (1
1/2) payment, if the Deputy selects pay instead
of compensatory time, shall be rendered to the
Deputy no later than the last pay period of the
following month.

B. Scheduling: Compensatory time shall be taken at
times mutually agreed upon by the Sheriff or
Chief Deputy and the employee.

. . .

F. Cashing in Compensatory Time: Compensatory time
already on the book can be taken as pay if the
employee puts in a request for a minimum of
eight (8) hours on the form designated by
management to be turned in with the regularly
submitted semi-monthly time card. The payment
for this compensatory time is then to be made at
the same time as the semi-monthly paychecks are
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distributed.

ARTICLE 14 - HOLIDAYS

. . .

C. Holiday pay shall consist of eight (8) hours pay
at the employee's regular hourly rate of pay if
he does not work on the holiday. For purposes
of calculating holiday pay the regular hourly
rate of pay is to be computed by taking twelve
(12) times the monthly salary and dividing by
2,190 hours (hours per year) rounded off to the
nearest one cent (1 cent). Employees scheduled
to work on a holiday shall receive compensatory
time or salary at the rate of one and one-half
(1 1/2) hours for each hour worked.

ARTICLE 16 - SICK LEAVE

. . .

G. Payment for Unused Days: Employees who retire
shall be paid, at their regular daily rate of
pay at retirement, for one-half (1/2) their
accumulated unused sick leave. In the event of
death while in the employ of the Sheriff's
Department, payout at the above rate shall be
made to the employee's estate. The hourly rate
of pay for calculating the value of unused sick
days is to be computed by taking twelve (12)
times the monthly salary at time of retirement
and dividing by 2,190 hours (hours per year)
rounded off to the nearest one cent (1 cent).

APPENDIX A

SALARY SCHEDULE

Effective 1/1/91 Effective 1/1/92

Monthly * Hourly ** Monthly * Hourly **
(2094) (2190) (2094) (2190)

Deputy

-After 2nd
year (1) $1,921.67 11.01 10.53 $2,017.75 11.56 11.06

-After 1st
year (2) $1,846.96 10.58 10.12 $1,939.31 11.11 10.63

-Start $1,685.08 9.66 9.23 $1,739.33 10.14 9.70

*The hourly rate of 2094 is calculated by taking twelve
(12) times the monthly salary and dividing by 2094
hours and is to be used for overtime.

**The hourly rate of 2190 is calculated by taking
twelve (12) times the monthly salary and dividing by
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2190 hours and is to be used for the value of a Kelly
Day in the event repayment is owed by employee to
Employer, for holiday pay and for unused sick days upon
retirement.

BACKGROUND

The dispute in this case concerns the County's policy regarding pay to
employes for overtime hours worked and taken as comp time in lieu of a cash
payment. In the mid-1980's, in order to comply with the requirements of the
Fair Labor Standards Act, the parties in their negotiations for the 1986-87
collective bargaining agreement reduced the number of hours worked by deputies
from the previous 2190 hours to 2094 hours. The difference in hours worked was
accounted for by granting employes the difference in Kelley days. From the
inception of the 1986-87 collective bargaining agreement wherein the aforesaid
change first took affect, until 1991, when the Union complained, the County
paid employes the lower hourly rate, which was obtained by multiplying the
monthly salary by 12 and dividing by 2190 hours, when employes accepted pay as
opposed to comp time off. After receiving the Union's complaint, the Employer
agreed that overtime banked as comp time, but ultimately taken as pay should be
paid at the hourly rate based upon 2094 hours of work. Subsequent to the
resolution of that dispute, the Union filed the subject grievance. This
grievance contends that the County is inappropriately compensating employes who
work overtime, bank the hours earned as comp time and ultimately taken as comp
time off because when they take that time off, the County compensates them at
their hourly rate based on 2190 hours instead of the higher hourly rate
specified in Article 13 - Overtime.

This dispute is clearly one of contract interpretation, and the facts
giving rise to the instant grievance are not disputed. The County believes the
crux of the issue is that the rate of pay for overtime hours worked is not
involved unless the employe takes pay for the overtime instead of taking
compensatory time off. The County has paid employes in the same manner for
overtime and compensatory time since the 1986 contract took affect. If an
employe works eight hours overtime and wants comp time off, that employe
receives 12 hours off. That is what was done in the grievant's case and that
is why there is now a grievance. The grievant wants 12 hours off, plus an
additional .50 cents per hour for each 12 hours of comp time used. However,
the contract doesn't say time and one-half plus .50 cents an hour, rather, it
only says comp time at time and one-half. The County believes the grievance is
ridiculous inasmuch as if an employe works eight hours and is given 12 hours
off, there is no entitlement to an additional .50 cents per hour. It believes
that the rate of pay is not involved in calculating overtime when taking
overtime earned as compensatory time off. Appendix A lists the salary and
monthly figures. An employe's pay is one-half (1/2) the monthly amount for 24
pay periods for those employes working a 6-2 schedule. When the Employer pays
24 times per year, some pay periods have 15 or 16 or 14 days in them, and days
worked vary depending upon when the employes' off days occur. For example, a
15 day period equals 11 or 12 days work. Regardless of what an employe works,
if no overtime or holiday pay is earned, the gross pay will always equal one-
half of the monthly salary. While the paychecks always show 80 hours worked
for the period, it is not significant because on every check for every employe
80 hours worked is shown, irrespective of the hours actually worked.
Therefore, when overtime earned is taken as comp time off rather than receiving
pay, there is no need for the rate of pay to be considered because the employe
receives the same amount of pay for the period as always, even though he/she
worked 12 hours less.

The County has always tried to negotiate out of comp time for overtime
because of the replacement problem it creates. Thus, the 2094 hours only comes
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into play if an employe elects to be paid his overtime earned instead of taking
the overtime hours earned in the form of compensatory time off.

The County believes that the contract language is clear and unambiguous
and that the past practice supports its reading of the contract. It insists it
is doing what it has done since 1986, except when a mistake was made with
respect to the payment of overtime when an employe cashed in compensatory time
instead of taking compensatory time off. Notwithstanding that mistake, the
County believes it has and is correctly paying employes for compensatory time
off, and therefore requests that the grievance be denied.

The Union, to the contrary, argues that several Deputies are not being
paid the proper rate of pay when taking comp time off in lieu of overtime pay.
The language pertaining to overtime in Article 13 (A) states that the hourly
rate is to be computed by dividing 12 times the monthly salary by 2094 hours
and under the '92 contract that equates to $11.56 per hour. The 2094 hours
came about in 1986 in response to the 1985 Garcia decision making the Fair
Labor Standards Act applicable to county employers. At that time the total
number of hours worked under the 6-2 work schedule was reduced by granting
employes 12 Kelley days per year, and thus the actual hours worked in any
calendar year dropped from 2190 to 2094. It is the 2094 hours that are used in
dividing the annual salary to calculate the overtime rate, and not the 2190
hours that were worked under the 6-2 schedule prior to the 1986 changes. The
Union believes the reason that the 2094 hours was used in calculating overtime
rate is because it made sense because employes receiving 12 Kelley days were no
longer going to be working 2190 hours.

The Union asserts that the contract provides for two types of overtime
pay, comp time off and overtime pay. In either case, however, the contract
states in Article 13 "Deputies who are required to work in excess of the
scheduled work day or work week shall receive pay at time and one-half or
compensatory time off at time and one-half at the Deputy's discretion... The
hourly rate is to be computed by taking 12 times the monthly salary and
dividing by 2094 hours rounded off to the nearest one cent." The Union
believes the contract is clear and requires that the compensatory time off be
paid at the same rate as if the employe had taken the overtime earned in pay
instead; and that the past practice of the County on this matter is irrelevant.
Furthermore, the County has not provided a sufficient explanation as to why it
should be permitted to pay employes who choose to take compensatory time off
for overtime earned at a lower rate than if that employe were to take pay for
the overtime earned. Thus, the Union requests that the grievance be sustained
and that the Arbitrator order the County to make the grievant whole by awarding
him the difference between what he was paid and what he should have been paid
for any compensatory time taken from the date of the award back to five days
prior to the date of the grievance.

DISCUSSION

The undersigned's review of the contract language and the arguments of
the parties have led him to conclude that the grievance should be sustained.
The County's position that rate of pay is not a relevant consideration when
granting employes comp time off is logical and persuasive as a means to
discourage employes from taking comp time in the absence of any contract
language to the contrary. However, both in Appendix A and Article 13, the
language states that the hourly rate calculated by taking 12 times the monthly
salary and dividing by 2094 hours, is to be used for overtime purposes.
Whereas, the same Appendix A provides that the hourly rate of 2190 hours is to
be used in determining the value of a Kelley day "in the event repayment is
owed by employe to employer," calculating the rate of pay should an employe be
scheduled to work on a holiday and elect to take compensatory time or be paid,
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and when paying employes for unused sick days. Clearly, the parties, when they
negotiated the changes in the 1986-87 collective bargaining agreement, saw a
need to have two rates of pay specified in the contract and identified which
rate was applicable in different circumstances.

In Article 13 - the parties saw fit to chose only the higher compensation
rate for all overtime worked. The County's arguments, however, require the
reader to assume that the higher rate is only applicable if the employe takes
the overtime earned as pay, and not as compensatory time off. Also, the County
position requires the additional assumption that hourly rate only has reference
to cash payments and not pay for comp time. Were the contract language to
specify that employes taking compensatory time in lieu of pay for overtime work
be paid the hourly rate calculated at 2190 hours, the Employer's position would
be sustained. However, the language does not so provide.
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When one contrasts the language of Article 13 with Article 14, which
expressly provides that employes who are scheduled to work on a holiday and
take pay or compensatory time for the hours worked are to be paid at the hourly
rate calculated by using 2190 hours, clearly, had that been the parties' intent
in dealing with overtime, they could have so specified. Significantly,
however, overtime is the only instance specified in Appendix A when the 2094
hours rate of pay is to be used for calculating compensation.

Furthermore, it is worth noting that the County in its letter of
December 10, 1985, to the Price County Deputies Association indicated its
preference to continue to pay overtime rather than "allow compensatory time
because of the difficulty in scheduling and to limit the use of part-time
employes who do not have as much training as full-time employes." Clearly,
however, as evidenced by the 1986-87 contract language continued to date, the
County was not successful in persuading the Deputies that overtime earned could
not be taken as compensatory time off. If the Union agreed in its negotiations
in 1985, to accept a lower rate of pay when taking compensatory time for
overtime earned at the higher rate, language was not written to reflect that
agreement. Further, there was no testimony at the hearing concerning
bargaining history which would support a finding that the Union reached such an
agreement with the County. Thus, the language, as written, is clear and
unambiguous in providing overtime is to be earned at the higher rate of pay
based upon a work year of 2094 hours, and there is no language providing that
employes will be compensated at a lower rate if they decide to take any time
off in lieu of a cash payment.

Therefore, based upon the foregoing, the undersigned believes that the
only conclusion that can be reached in this case is that the contract requires
the 2094 hourly rate be used in compensating employes for overtime earned
irrespective of whether it is taken as pay or in the form of compensatory time
off. Consequently, the County, when granting compensatory time off in lieu of
overtime pay, must pay employes for the comp time hours used at the 2094 hourly
rate specified in Appendix A of the contract and not at their normal rate of
pay calculated using 2190 hours.

Based upon the foregoing and the record as a whole, the undersigned
enters the following

AWARD

The County did violate the collective bargaining agreement when it paid
Deputy Sprague at the hourly rate calculated using 2190 hours instead of 2094
hours for overtime earned and taken as compensatory time off. Consequently,
the County shall pay Deputy Sprague the difference between what he was paid
when taking overtime earned as comp time off for the period commencing on
January 2, 1992, five days prior to the date of the instant grievance, and
ending with the implementation of this Award.

Dated at Madison, Wisconsin this 15th day of September, 1992.

By
Thomas L. Yaeger, Arbitrator


