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ARBITRATION AWARD 
 

The Labor Association of Wisconsin, Inc., Winnebago County Deputies Association, 
Local 107, hereinafter LAW or the Association, and Winnebago County, hereinafter the 
County or Employer, requested a list of five staff arbitrators from the Wisconsin Employment 
Relations Commission from which to select an arbitrator to hear and decide the instant dispute 
in accordance with the grievance and arbitration procedures contained in the parties' labor 
agreement.  Raleigh Jones, of the Commission's staff, was selected to arbitrate the dispute.  
The hearing was held before the undersigned on September 21, 2010, in Oshkosh, Wisconsin.  
The hearing was transcribed.  The parties submitted briefs on November 8, 2010, whereupon 
the record was closed.  Based upon the evidence and arguments of the parties, the undersigned 
makes and issues the following Award.   
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ISSUE 
 

The parties were unable to stipulate to the issue to be decided in this case.  The 
Association framed the issue as follows: 
 

Did the Employer violate the terms of the collective bargaining agreement when 
it did not credit Deputy Justin Treder’s sick leave account for accrued sick leave 
from his date of hire?  If so, what is the correct remedy?   

 
The County framed the issue as follows: 
 

Did Winnebago County violate Article 4, lines 23-25 or Article 12, page 9, 
lines 28-32 of the collective bargaining agreement between Winnebago County 
and the Winnebago County Deputies Association, 2007-2009, by refusing to 
credit Deputy Justin Treder with 64 hours of sick time on January 1, 2010, [sic] 
because he had not completed 993 hours of service? 

 
I have not adopted either side’s proposed issue.  Based on the entire record, I find that 

the issue which is going to be decided herein is as follows: 
 

In a probationary employee’s first year of employment, do they get either the 
full 64 hour lump sum sick leave allotment, or any prorated share thereof, if 
they do not hit the threshold of 993 hours? 

 
PERTINENT CONTRACT PROVISIONS 

 
 The parties’ 2007-09 collective bargaining agreement contained the following pertinent 
provisions: 
 

ARTICLE 2 
MANAGEMENT RIGHTS 

 
 Except to the extent expressly abridged by a specific provision of this 
Agreement, the County reserves and retains, solely and exclusively, all of its 
Common Law, statutory, and inherent rights to manage its own affairs, as such 
rights existed prior to the execution of this or any other previous Agreement 
with the Association.  Nothing herein contained shall divest the Association 
from any of its rights under Wisconsin Statutes, Section 111.70. 
 

. . . 
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ARTICLE 4 
PROBATIONARY EMPLOYEES 

 
 All newly hired regular employees shall be considered probationary 
employees for a period of 1,986 hours and successful completion of the 
mandatory recruit training program.  If the newly hired employee has not 
completed the mandatory recruit training program upon working 1,986 hours, 
the probationary period may be extended by mutual consent of the County and 
the Association Board of Directors. 
 
 All probationary employees shall receive eight (8) hours’ pay for each 
holiday as it occurs.  Upon completion of 993 hours of service, probationary 
employees shall be eligible to use paid sick leave accrued since the date of hire.  
Upon completion of 1,986 hours of service, employees shall be eligible to use 
paid vacations accrued between their date of hire and December 31 of their year 
of hire. 
 
 Probationary employees may be terminated at any time in the sole 
discretion of the County.  Discharges during probationary period shall not be 
subject to the grievance procedure. 
 
 All newly promoted or transferred employees shall serve a six (6) month 
probationary period beyond the end of their successful completion of the FTO 
training program.  Any any time during the course of his probationary period, 
the Department may return the employee to his former division/shift or the 
employee, within sixty (60) days after completing training in the new 
division/shift, may elect to return to his former division/shift, and any such 
decision shall not be grievable under Article 5 of this Agreement. 
 

. . . 
 

ARTICLE 12 
SICK LEAVE WITH PAY 

 
. . . 

 
 The following provision shall take effect January 1, 2005 for all 
employees hired on or after January 1, 2005, and for all employees who 
select the group dental insurance/sick leave package. 
 
 All employees hired on or after January 1, 2005 and employees who 
elect to participate in the group dental insurance/sick leave package shall accrue 
sick leave with pay benefits on January 1 of each year at the rate of eight (8) 
days per year (64 hours).  In January of 2005, employees will be credited with  
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the sick leave that they earned in December of 2004 and their accumulated 
balances of unused sick leave shall be carried forward.  Unused sick leave shall 
accumulate from year to year. 
 

. . . 
 

BACKGROUND 
 

The County operates a Sheriff’s Department.  The Association is the exclusive 
collective bargaining representative for certain Sheriff’s Department employees, including 
Deputy Justin Treder. 
 
 This case deals with the 64 hour lump sum sick leave allotment for probationary 
employees in their first year of employment.  It is a contract interpretation case. 
 
 Since this is a contract interpretation case, the contract language pertinent to this case is 
going to be reviewed at this point in the decision in order to provide context for the facts which 
follow.  The parties’ collective bargaining agreement provides that deputies hired since 2005 
can earn 64 hours of paid sick time on two separate occasions.  First, pursuant to Article 4, 
when an employee is hired (and they are still a probationary employee), they start to bank sick 
leave right away, but they can’t use the sick leave until they complete 993 hours of service.  
After they hit that threshold (meaning they have completed 993 hours of service), they get an 
allotment of 64 hours of sick leave.  Second, after that, they receive 64 hours of paid sick time 
annually, on January 1st of each year, pursuant to Article 12.  That article (i.e. Article 12) sets 
forth two methods by which paid sick leave is awarded to deputies.  For those deputies hired 
before 2005 (and who do not select the group dental insurance/sick leave package), sick leave 
with pay benefits accrue at the rate of eight hours per month for each month of completed 
service (i.e. 96 hours per year).  For deputies hired after 2005 (and those who select the group 
dental insurance/sick leave package), sick leave with pay benefits are allocated in a lump sum 
of 64 hours once a year on January 1st.  The difference between these two categories of 
employees in Article 12 can be stated thus: those employees hired before 2005 earn paid sick 
leave month-by-month.  Those employees hired after 2005 receive a lump sum sick leave 
allotment of 64 hours each January 1st.   
 

. . . 
 
 Mary Polishinski is the County’s payroll and benefits manager.  She has been working 
in that capacity for 35 years.  Her job requires her to administer the provisions of the parties’ 
collective bargaining agreement which relate to benefits (such as sick leave and health 
insurance). 
 
 Each payday, her staff receives a timekeeper report which shows the number of hours 
of service each employee has.  They track probationary employees on a spreadsheet.  The 
spreadsheet allows the payroll department to keep track of how many hours of service  
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probationary employees have completed.  When a probationary employee hits the threshold of 
993 hours, the payroll department notifies the Sheriff’s Office, and the probationary employee 
is credited with 64 hours of paid sick time. 
 
 The record indicates that the County’s payroll department has historically paid out the 
64 hour lump sum sick leave allotment only to those deputies who are “non-probationary” for 
purposes of sick leave (i.e., those deputies who have completed 993 hours of service).  Prior to 
this case, no one had ever challenged the way the payroll department handled the 64 hour lump 
sum sick leave allotment for probationary employees in their first year of employment.  
Additionally, prior to this case, the payroll department had never been asked to prorate the 64 
hour lump sum sick leave allotment for a probationary employee who did not complete 993 
hours of service as of December 31st of their first year of employment.   
 
 The payroll department also administers the County’s health insurance system.  
Polishinski testified that under the County’s health insurance policy, employees become 
eligible for health insurance on the first day of the month following 60 actual days of 
employment.  Employees who start work on a day other than the first day of the month must 
wait until the first day of the month that follows their completion of 60 work days before they 
can take health coverage.  The following examples show how this works.  Employee A begins 
employment on September 1 and Employee B begins employment on September 15.  
Employee A begins participating in the Employer’s health insurance plan on November 1, 
whereas Employee B begins participating in the Employer’s health insurance plan on 
December 1. 
 

FACTS 
 
 Deputies Melissa Krokstrom and Holly Tuttle started working for the Winnebago 
County Sheriff’s Office on July 14, 2008.  As of December 31, 2008, Deputy Krokstrom had 
completed 1,022 hours of service and Deputy Tuttle had completed 1,032 hours of service.  
Once they completed 993 hours of service, Deputies Krokstrom and Tuttle were credited with 
64 hours of paid sick time for 2008, pursuant to Article 4 of the collective bargaining 
agreement.  Then, on January 1, 2009, Deputies Krokstrom and Tuttle were credited with 64 
hours of paid sick time for 2009 pursuant to Article 12.  Thus, in early 2009, Krokstrom and 
Tuttle were awarded two separate allotments of 64 hours each, for a total of 128 hours of sick 
time.  (Note: 64 hours was for 2008, and 64 hours was for 2009).  Going forward though, they 
will not receive 128 hours of sick time each January 1st; instead, they will only receive 64 
hours of sick time each January 1 (pursuant to Article 12). 
 
 Deputy Justin Treder started working for the Winnebago County Sheriff’s Office on 
July 21, 2008 (i.e. one week after Krokstrom and Tuttle).  As of December 31, 2008, Deputy 
Treder had not completed 993 hours of service (whereas Krokstrom and Tuttle had completed 
993 hours of service).  As of that date, Treder had completed 991 hours of service.  Since 
Treder had not completed 993 hours of service by December 31, 2008, the payroll office did 
not credit him with 64 hours of paid sick time for 2008 the way it did for Krokstrom and  
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Tuttle.  Sometime after January 1, 2009, Deputy Treder completed 993 hours of service.  At 
that time, he was credited with 64 hours of paid sick time for 2009.  Thus, in early 2009, 
Treder did not receive two separate allotments of 64 hours each (for a combined total of 128 
hours) as Krokstrom and Tuttle did.  Instead, in January, 2009, Treder just received a single 
allotment of 64 hours. 
 
 When that happened, Treder thought he had been treated unfairly because he did not get 
128 hours of sick leave credited to his sick leave account the way Krokstrom and Tuttle did.  
As he saw it, the Employer had not credited him with sick leave for 2008. 
 
 The Association subsequently filed a grievance on Treder’s behalf.  The grievance 
alleged that the Employer violated the collective bargaining agreement “when it did not credit 
Deputy Treder’s sick leave account for accrued sick leave from his date of hire.”  The 
grievance also alleged that Treder’s sick leave account was not credited with any sick leave 
from his date of hire through December 31, 2008 (i.e. a 5.5 month period).  The Association 
sought a prorated share of the 64 hour lump sum sick leave allotment that is credited to each 
employee pursuant to Article 12.  Specifically, the grievance sought to have 29.33 hours of 
sick leave credited to Treder’s sick leave account.  The Employer denied the grievance and it 
was ultimately appealed to arbitration. 
 

POSITIONS OF THE PARTIES 
 
Association 
 
 The Association contends that the County violated the collective bargaining agreement 
when it did not credit any sick leave to the account of Deputy Treder for the time he was 
employed in 2008.  It elaborates as follows. 
 
 For background purposes, the Association acknowledges at the outset that probationary 
employees can’t use any sick leave until they hit the 993-hour (sick leave) threshold.  Next, it 
notes that Treder did not use any sick leave during his 993-hour (sick leave) probationary 
period.  Finally, it also acknowledges that Treder was awarded his 2009 sick leave allotment of 
64 hours in January, 2009.  Having noted the foregoing, the Association gets to what it 
considers the problem herein, specifically what happened during the 5.5 month period from the 
time Treder was hired until December 31, 2008.  According to the Association, during that 
time period, Treder was not credited with any sick leave whatsoever.  Said another way, he 
did not accrue any sick leave during that period.  The Association maintains that he should 
have, and since that didn’t happen, the Employer violated the collective bargaining agreement. 
 
 As the Association sees it, the arbitrator need not look any further than the contract 
language in Articles 4 and 12 to resolve this case.  The Association contends those provisions 
are clear and unambiguous in providing that both regular employees and probationary 
employees accrue (bank) sick time from their date of hire.  As previously noted, the 
Association acknowledges that probationary employees can’t use any sick leave until they pass  
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the 993-hour (sick leave) threshold, but the Association maintains they nonetheless still accrue 
sick leave during that period.  The Association repeats the contention that that didn’t happen 
here, and the Employer did not accrue Treder’s sick leave account from his date of hire (as it 
should have). 
 
 The Association maintains that the County’s reading of Articles 4 and 12 is just plain 
wrong.  To support that contention, the Association cites the Employer’s opening statement 
from the hearing.  According to the Association, what the Employer’s representative said was 
this: “two different methods exist for the accrual of sick time, one in which the grievant would 
be eligible for sick leave accrual and a second method which requires the grievant to forfeit the 
sick leave.”  The Association characterizes that proposed interpretation as perplexing and avers 
that it implies that “employees who do not work 993 hours in a year do not accrue sick time.”  
The Association asserts there is nothing in Articles 4 or 12 that says that.  The Association 
ends this portion of its brief with the following statement: “For the County to purport the 993 
hour provision also attaches an unwritten ‘sick leave probationary status’ is a gross distortion 
of the collective bargaining agreement.” 
 
 Next, the Association argues that notwithstanding the County’s contention to the 
contrary, this case should not be controlled by an alleged past practice.  Instead, as the 
Association sees it, the contract language should be controlling.  Here’s why.  The Association 
cites the standard arbitral principle that when the contract language is clear and unambiguous 
(which the Association maintains is the situation here), then there is no need for the arbitrator 
to even consider an alleged past practice.  The Association asks the arbitrator to follow that 
principle here. 
 
 However, if the arbitrator does consider the alleged past practice, the Association 
submits that the County did not present sufficient evidence to establish a binding past practice 
which is entitled to contractual enforcement.  The Association cites the standard arbitral 
principles for establishing a past practice (i.e. that it be unequivocal, clearly enunciated and 
acted upon, and readily ascertainable over a reasonable period of time) and asserts they were 
not met here.  The Association put it this way in their brief: “there is simply nothing in the 
record which proves any of the three prongs necessary for the Employer to establish a past 
practice.”  Consequently, the Association asks that the arbitrator ignore the Employer’s 
assertion of a past practice, and instead base his decision on the clear and unambiguous 
language in Articles 4 and 12 of the collective bargaining agreement. 
 
 The Association therefore asks the arbitrator to sustain the grievance and find a contract 
violation.  The remedy which the Association asked for in their grievance and in their opening 
statement at the hearing was to credit Treder with 29.33 hours of sick leave (i.e. a prorated 
amount which represents 5.5 months of a 64-hour annual allocation).  In its brief though, the 
Association asked for a different remedy, to wit: that Treder be credited with 64 hours of sick 
leave. 
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County 
 
 The County contends it did not violate either Articles 4 or 12 of the parties’ collective 
bargaining agreement when it did not credit Deputy Treder’s sick leave account with 64 hours 
of sick time on January 1, 2009.  It elaborates as follows. 
 
 The County notes at the outset that the parties’ collective bargaining agreement 
provides two occasions on which deputies can acquire 64 hours of paid sick leave.  Under 
Article 4, the 64 hour allocation is given to new employees upon completing their first 993 
hours of service.  Under Article 12, the 64 hour allocation is provided to employees once a 
year on January 1st.  The County contends it does not have to provide the 64 hour allotment to 
those probationary employees who have not reached the 993-hour threshold.  It argues that the 
Association’s contention to the contrary should be rejected because it fails to give effect to the 
contract as a whole.  It cites the standard arbitral principle that all words in an agreement 
should be interpreted in a way that gives them meaning.  Next, it notes that Article 4 prohibits 
new employees from using paid sick time until they have passed the 993-hour milestone.  
Building on that, the Employer opines that “it must be assumed that, at bargaining, the parties 
intended to treat new, or ‘probationary’ employees different from regular, non-probationary 
employees.”  To support that premise, it then goes on to note that the agreement contains a 
half-dozen provisions that differentiate probationary from non-probationary employees.  For 
example, in Article 1, the recognition clause applies only to “regular” full time and part time 
employees; in Article 4, it provides that “probationary employees may be terminated at any 
time in the sole discretion of the County.  Discharges during probationary period shall not be 
subject to the grievance procedure”; also, in Article 4, it prohibits probationary employees 
from using vacation until they have completed 1,986 hours of service; and the Article 12 “Sick 
Leave Control Incentive Program” applies only to employees who have been represented by 
the Association for at least 560 hours in the trimester period.” 
 
 Next, the County addresses the fact that those employees hired later in the year won’t 
likely be able to hit the 993 hour threshold by December 31.  It acknowledges that that 
“arguably disadvantages” an employee hired later in the year (as opposed to an employee hired 
earlier in the year).  Be that as it may, the Employer emphasizes that is what the parties 
collectively bargained, so it should not be changed by arbitral decision.  As the County sees it, 
“the Association’s position obliterates the contract’s distinction between new and regular 
employees for purposes of sick leave” and renders the 993-hour requirement contained in 
Article 4 meaningless. 
 
 Addressing the Association’s contention that the phrase “all employees” in Article 12 
refers to both probationary and non-probationary employees, the Employer disputes that 
interpretation.  According to the Employer, the phrase “all employees” in Article 12 “can only 
be interpreted to mean those employees who are bound by the Agreement.”  It asserts that if 
any broader interpretation were applied, the Agreement would take in unrepresented 
employees.  The Employer maintains that the phrase “all employees” should be interpreted  
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consistent with Polishinski’s testimony to mean non-probationary employees who, for sick 
leave with pay purposes, have passed the 993-hour threshold established in Article 4. 
 
 The County asserts that the practice which Polishinski referenced in her testimony was 
not kept secret from the Association.  According to the County, it did not hide this practice 
from the Association or prevent the Association or its members from discovering it. 
 
 It’s the County’s view that the procedure which it uses to award sick leave with pay 
benefits mirrors the procedure for health insurance eligibility.  Here’s why.  It notes that 
employees become eligible to participate in health insurance on the first day of the month after 
they complete 60 days of actual work.  Officers hired on the first of the month might be 
eligible to complete the 60 day work requirement in two months.  But officers hired later in the 
month will probably not be eligible until the first day of the third month.  As the County sees 
it, “this procedure is not unfair, discriminatory or malicious – it is just the way things are.”  
Building on that premise, the Employer opines that “so it is with the Article 12 annual 
allocation of paid sick leave benefits.” 
 
 Finally, the County maintains that there is no basis in the contract language for the 
Association’s request for a prorated amount of paid sick time for Treder.  It notes in this 
regard that the contract sets forth a marked difference between pre-2005 and post-2005 
employees: those employees hired before January 1, 2005 earn paid sick leave time month-by-
month, while employees hired after 2005 receive a lump sum allocation of 64 hours of paid 
sick time.  It specifically points out that the contract language itself does not provide for 
prorating this lump sum amount.  Additionally, the County notes that Polishinski testified that 
the County has never prorated sick time for any employee.  The County further notes that the 
contract contains a seniority list which shows, among other things, that three deputies were 
hired in September, 2007 (namely, Deputies Wohahn, Nozar and Van Thiel).  The County 
avers that “assuming these deputies did not work 993 hours before January 1, 2008, they are 
examples of similarly situated individuals for whom no proration was made.” 
 
 In sum then, it’s the County’s position that it did not violate the collective bargaining 
agreement by its actions relative to Deputy Treder.  It asks that the grievance be denied. 
 

DISCUSSION 
 
 As was noted in the ISSUE section, I did not adopt either side’s proposed issue herein.  
In my view, the issue which is presented in this contract interpretation case is as follows:  In a 
probationary employee’s first year of employment, do they get either the full 64 hour lump 
sum sick leave allotment, or any prorated share thereof, if they do not hit the threshold of 993 
hours?  Although neither side worded the issue that way, I believe it’s apparent from the 
record that the Association would answer that question in the affirmative while the County 
would answer it in the negative.  Based on the rationale which follows, I answer that question 
in the negative.  Thus, I find no contract violation. 
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 I’ve decided to begin my discussion by addressing at the outset the 993-hour sick leave 
threshold.  Article 4 provides that newly-hired employees are considered probationary 
employees for their first 1,986 hours of employment.  The second sentence of the second 
paragraph of Article 4 then goes on to say that “upon completion of 993 hours of service, 
probationary employees shall be eligible to use paid sick leave accrued since the date of hire.”  
Given the paragraph which preceded it, I find that this sentence has two different meanings.  
First, it means that while the probationary period is 1,986 hours long, new employees don’t 
have to work that many hours (i.e. 1,986 hours) before they can take a sick day.  Instead, the 
parties have negotiated a different threshold for their taking sick leave.  The threshold is 993 
hours.  Second, this sentence implicitly means that probationary employees can’t use any paid 
sick leave for their first 993 hours of employment.  After they hit the 993 hour threshold 
though, they can use sick leave. 
 
 Having made those preliminary comments about the 993 hour sick leave threshold, I’m 
next going to review the following facts.  Deputies Krokstrom, Tuttle and Treder were all 
hired in the summer of 2008.  Treder started one week after the other two.  Krokstrom and 
Tuttle hit the 993-hour threshold before Treder did.  Specifically, Krokstrom and Tuttle hit it 
before December 31, 2008.  Treder did not have 993 hours of employment completed as of 
December 31, 2008.  As of that date (i.e. December 31, 2008), Treder had 991 hours of 
service.  He passed the 993-hour threshold in January, 2009.  In the context of this case, it is 
very significant that Treder did not hit the 993-hour sick leave threshold before December 31, 
2008. 
 
 Here’s why that fact was so significant.  In January, 2009, the Employer’s payroll 
department paid out the 64 hour lump sum sick leave allotment which is referenced in 
Article 12.  When the payroll department gave out sick leave allotments to Krokstrom and 
Tuttle, it gave them each an allotment of 128 hours.  64 hours of that allotment was for 2008 
because they had hit the 993 hour threshold specified in Article 4.  The other 64 hour allotment 
was their allotment for 2009.  Thus, Krokstrom and Tuttle qualified for two years of 
allotments (2008 and 2009).  Treder was treated differently.  He was given a 64 hour sick 
leave allotment for 2009, but did not receive a 64 hour sick leave allotment for 2008.  When 
Treder learned that he had  received an allotment of 64 hours of sick leave, while Krokstrom 
and Tuttle received double that (i.e. 128 hours of sick leave), Treder cried foul. 
 
 Although Treder was treated differently than Krokstrom and Tuttle in that Treder did 
not receive the same amount of sick leave credited to his account as Krokstrom and Tuttle did, 
I find there was a non-discriminatory contractual reason for this.  Simply put, it was because 
Krokstrom and Tuttle hit the 993 hour sick leave threshold before December 31, 2008, while 
Treder did not.  Thus, Treder did not qualify for the sick leave payout in 2008. 
 
 The Association makes several arguments which essentially contend that this outcome 
was unfair and/or not contractually based. 
 
 



Page 11 
MA-14614 

 
 
 First, the Association argues that all probationary employees start to accrue sick leave 
from their date of hire.  That’s true; they do.  Treder did, in fact, accrue sick leave in 2008 
from the date of hire to December 31, 2008.  To illustrate that, one need look no further than 
the fact that if Treder had worked just two more hours prior to December 31, 2008, he would 
have been treated the same as Krokstrom and Tuttle and been awarded an allotment of 128 
hours of sick leave.  The fact that he was treated differently than Krokstrom and Tuttle shows 
that there’s a difference between accruing (i.e. banking) sick leave and paying it out.  The 
following example shows this.  Say an employee is hired late in the calendar year.  That 
probationary employee won’t come close to hitting the 993 hour threshold by December 31.  
Since that employee didn’t hit the 993 hour sick leave threshold by December 31 of their first 
year of employment, the Employer does not have to pay out the sick leave which they accrued.  
Said another way, the Employer doesn’t have to pay out the 64 hour hour sick leave allotment 
to them.  In the example just given (where the employee is hired later in the year), they will 
still qualify for the Article 12 sick leave allotment in January for the next year.  However, 
since they did not hit the 993 hour sick leave threshold, they do not qualify for the 64 hour 
lump sum sick leave allotment for their first year of employment. 
 
 In this case, Treder came very close to hitting the 993-hour sick leave threshold.  
However, the simple fact of the matter is that he didn’t hit it, and was two hours short.  It’s 
inevitable that when parties negotiate a numerical threshold of eligibility for something, 
situations will arise where an employee comes close to hitting it, but does not.  As the 
Employer put it in their brief, that’s “just the way things are.”  The parties had to have known 
when they negotiated the threshold of 993 hours that not everybody would hit that threshold in 
their first calendar year of employment.  They nonetheless negotiated a system whereby those 
probationary employees who hit that threshold qualify for a 64 hour sick leave allotment in 
their first year of employment while those probationary employees who do not hit that 
threshold do not qualify for a 64 hour sick leave allotment in their first year of employment.  
That was their call to make. 
 
 Second, the Association relies on the phrase “all employees” which is found in 
Article 12 in the paragraph which follows the paragraph in bold print.  According to the 
Association, the phrase “all employees” means just that, and has no exclusions.  Thus, it’s the 
Association’s view that the phrase “all employees” covers everybody, and does not exclude 
probationary employees who have not hit the 993-hour sick leave threshold.  The Association’s 
proposed interpretation would certainly carry the day, so to speak, if it was the only contract 
language applicable to this dispute.  However, it is not.  As already noted, Article 4 applies to 
this case as well.  Although Article 12 does not say anything about the 993-hour sick leave 
threshold referenced in Article 4, I can’t just ignore Article 4 when deciding this case.  When 
several contract provisions apply to a given situation – as is the case here – my job as 
arbitrator is to reconcile them in a way that gives meaning to them all.  Were I to just hang my 
hat exclusively on the phrase “all employees” in Article 12 and interpret/apply it herein so that 
Treder got the full 64 hour lump sum sick leave allotment in his first year of employment even 
though he did not hit the threshold of 993 hours, I would essentially be reading the 993 hour 
timetable part of Article 4 out of existence.  I’m not going to do that.  Doing so would result in  
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a contractual interpretation that fails to give full effect to all the relevant contract language.  
Consequently, in this case, it is held that the phrase “all employees” in Article 12 does not 
have its conventional meaning.  Instead, because of the existence of other pertinent contract 
language, the phrase “all employees” in Article 12 refers to those employees who have passed 
the 993 hour threshold established in Article 4.    
 
 The contractual interpretation I just made coincides with the way the Employer’s 
payroll department has historically applied the contract language of Articles 4 and 12.  What 
I’m referring to is this:  in a probationary employee’s first year of employment, the payroll 
department has not paid out the full 64 hour lump sum sick leave allotment to those 
probationary employees who have not hit the threshold of 993 hours.  That fact buttresses the 
arbitrator’s interpretation.    
 

Finally, the focus turns to the Association’s contention that the Employer should be 
required to pay a prorated share of the 64 hour lump sum sick leave allotment to those 
probationary employees – like Treder - who don’t hit the 993 hour threshold in their first year 
of employment.  I decline to require the County to do that for the following reasons.  First, 
there is nothing in either Articles 4 or 12 which provides that the 64 hour lump sum amount is 
to be prorated for those employees who don’t hit the 993 hour threshold.  The parties know 
how to write proration language if that is what they mutually intended.  In this case, they did 
not include any such language in either Articles 4 or 12.  That being so, the obvious inference 
is that the 64 hour lump sum sick leave allotment is all or nothing.  Simply put, if the 
employee hits the threshold, they get 64 hours of sick leave.  If they don’t hit the threshold – 
and are say, two hours short (as happened here) - they don’t get any portion whatsoever of that 
amount.  Second, the contractual interpretation I just made coincides with the way the 
Employer’s payroll department has historically applied the language of Articles 4 and 12.  
What I’m referring to is this: the payroll department has never previously prorated any portion 
of the 64 hour lump sum sick leave allotment for those probationary employees who have not 
hit the threshold of 993 hours in their first year of employment.  That fact buttresses the 
arbitrator’s interpretation. 
 
 In light of the above, I find that the Employer did not violate the collective bargaining 
agreement by its actions herein involving Deputy Treder’s sick leave account. 
 
 Accordingly, I issue the following 
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 That in a probationary employee’s first year of employment, they do not get either the 
full 64 hour lump sum sick leave allotment, or any prorated share thereof, if they do not hit the 
threshold of 993 hours of service.  In this case, Deputy Treder did not hit that threshold by 
December 31, 2008.  Consequently, he was not contractually entitled to either the full 64 hour 
lump sum sick leave allotment, or any prorated share thereof, for 2008.  The grievance is 
therefore denied. 
 
Dated at Madison, Wisconsin, this 7th day of January, 2011. 

 
 
 
 
Raleigh Jones /s/ 
Raleigh Jones, Arbitrator 
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