# STATE OF WISCONSIN BEFORE THE WISCONSIN EMPLOYMENT RELATIONS COMMISSION

### TUCKER TEIGE, Appellant,

VS.

STATE OF WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF MILITARY AFFAIRS, Respondent.

Case ID: 265.0003 Case Type: PA

DECISION NO. 36977

#### **Appearances:**

Tucker Teige, Appellant, 704 Menomonie Street, Eau Claire, Wisconsin, appearing on his own behalf; and David Wagner, Representative, N7987 State Road 58, New Lisbon, Wisconsin, appearing on behalf of Tucker Teige.

Cara J. Larson, Attorney, Department of Administration, 101 East Wilson Street, 10th Floor, P.O. Box 7864, Madison, Wisconsin, appearing on behalf of the State of Wisconsin Department of Military Affairs.

On June 27, 2016, Appellant Tucker Teige was hired as a limited term employee by the Wisconsin Department of Military Affairs. Teige was terminated from that position and sought review by the Wisconsin Employment Relations Commission. The Department filed a motion to dismiss based upon an asserted lack of subject matter jurisdiction. A brief in support was submitted by the Department and no response was made by Teige.

#### **DECISION AND ORDER GRANTING MOTION TO DISMISS**

Our jurisdiction over personnel matters is limited and set forth in part in § 230.44, Stats. Appeals by terminated employees are limited to those made by individuals with "permanent status in class" at the time of the discharge. § 230.44(1)(c), Stats. Limited term employees by definition do not have permanent status in class and therefore we lack jurisdiction to review such matter. Accordingly, we enter the following:

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Section 230.26(4), Stats., indicates that limited term employees are not permanent employees. At the time of hire, Teige signed an agreement acknowledging his status as a limited term employee and the accompanying lack of right to a permanent civil service position.

ORDER
-------

That the appeal of Tucker Teige is dismissed.

Signed at the City of Madison, Wisconsin, this 10th day of August, 2017.

## WISCONSIN EMPLOYMENT RELATIONS COMMISSION

James R. Scott, Chairman	
James J. Daley, Commissioner	